I Think Snow is Entirely Overrated

Talking about the weather with Renzie Baluyut.

Back in the Philippines, the prospect of encountering snow for the very first time seems to be a landmark experience for most.

I am in Los Angeles right now, and while this is supposed to be the warmest place (relatively speaking) at the moment in the United States, I still find it too cold for my tastes.  As a friend of mine put it not-too-delicately, “It’s just too cold for our tropical asses”.

True that.

We get the equivalent of 3 to 4 degrees Celsius here right now.  Only a few degrees above the actual freezing point.  In fact, 3 to 4 degrees Celsius is the inside temperature of most refrigerators.

To put things in perspective, the coldest setting on the air-conditioning in any given office in the Philippines is 16 degrees- which is just about the right temperature for those cooling massive servers and equipment operating 24/7.  Most employees would prefer settings in the lower to mid-20 degree Celsius.

A cold day in Tagaytay is about 14 to 15 degrees Centigrade- which means a jacket should be mandatory if you want to head down there.  A cold day in Baguio, further up north, can go down to 10 degrees.

But even as I’m freezing my ass off in this weather, I suppose I should be thankful.  There have been blizzards up north in Seattle, and the winter cold is a lot more relentless in Chicago, New York and pretty much most everywhere else in the United States.

Cristina and myself at Universal Studios in Los Angeles, January 2009.  It was a relatively good day to check out the sights, but still very cold by Pinoy standards.
Cristina and myself at Universal Studios in Los Angeles, January 2009. It was a relatively good day to check out the sights, but still very cold by Pinoy standards.

I actually miss hanging out at home in just my boxers or shorts back in Manila.  Now, I’d be needing a sweater and some stretchy pants at the very least.  And even then, I’d have to be hanging out by the heater.

So, no, I don’t relish the idea of having snow.  Not the least bit at all.  At least not until I get used to this damned cold.  And that’s not going to be so anytime in the near future.

Cheers, everyone!

Leave a Reply

