It’s Great to Be Back in Los Angeles

Back in L.A. with Renzie Baluyut.

They say home is where the heart is (then your real home’s in your chest? Sorry, can’t help but make that Dr. Horrible reference – Renzie). Now that my girlfriend has moved to Los Angeles from Manila, and that I’ve reconnected with my mom and my sister, it seems that California might be more home to me now than Metro Manila.

I flew in from Manila on a Saturday night, and was welcomed at LAX by Regina and Cristina, and even if I was tired from that long flight, I was only happy to join them for a late dinner at Conrad’s in Glendale.

The December air was cold- and my sister warned me that it was going to be a lot colder. Looks like I have to get myself some more supplies to keep warm then.

The next day, as we were driving through the neigborhood, I noticed a lot more businesses have closed down, or are about to close down. Things seem to be much worse than they were last time I was here 5 months ago. And things were already pretty bad then.

Still, I believe that even in a recession, living conditions in Los Angeles are a lot better compared to that in Manila. And there are a lot more opportunities here, not only for making money, but also for learning and for building up your market value.

We took Cristina home to her folks’ place down in Hawaiian Gardens, a little more than 30 minutes away from the general downtown LA area. On our way home, I noticed that the sun sets at around 5pm, and by 5:30pm it’s already night-time.Spent the rest of the day unpacking (not that I had a lot packed to begin with- I only had two 25-pound bags with me, and my backpack) and just relaxing.

Tomorrow’s a brand new day, and officially the start of an entirely new chapter of my life.

With that, I leave you this video of a Josh Verdes song– Home. Really captures my sentiments at the moment.

Cheers, everyone.

Leave a Reply

