Can’t Get Enough of Dr. Horrible!

Its an internet musical!
It's an internet musical!

I’ve been playing “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog” on my player for days.  I can’t believe how much of an impact it’s made that I have taken the effort to:

  • Get my own copy of all three Acts,
  • Extract my own songs from the iTunes Downloads,
  • Transcribing my own lyrics to all the songs from all three acts, and finally-
  • Blogging all about it.

In case you haven’t seen it yet, I recommend you check it out.  Joss Whedon, creator of TV series Buffy The Vampire Slayer, Angel and Firefly has teamed up with brothers Zack and Jed, together with Jed’s fiancee, Maurissa, to come up with an internet musical which they called “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog”.

Supposedly, the idea for the whole project came about at the peak of the Writer’s Strike earlier this year- the whole fiasco was just dragging on, and everyone just wanted to get back to writing somehow.

Then they enlisted the support of people they’ve all worked with- including actors Neil Patrick Harris, Nathan Fillion, and Felicia Day.  The result: an internet musical masterpiece that broke down their servers, and quickly became the most downloaded TV show (it was classified under ‘TV shows’) on iTunes.

The Cast and Crew of Dr. Horribles Sing-Along Blog
The Cast and Crew of "Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog"

They came up with three acts of about 15 minutes apiece- which put together, is about as long as any regular TV episode.  You have to see it for yourself- after all, would you know of any musicals featuring super-villains?

Neil Patrick Harris stars as Dr. Horrible, and you can see that he’s put his theater training into good use here.  Nathan Fillion plays the role of the semi-cheesy and borderline juvenile beefcake Captain Hammer, nemesis of Dr. Horrible.  And of course you have Felicia Day as our ingenue, Penny.

Sing along to your other favorite Dr. Horrible songs by checking out parts 1, 2 and 3 of my Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog Songbook, right here on another blog of mine (which you can really, now sing along to as well…), My Thoughts In Stereo.

Check out Part 1 of the Dr. Horrible Sing-Along Blog Songbook here, featuring the songs

  • “My Freeze Ray”,
  • “Bad Horse (The Application)”,
  • “Penny’s Song”, and
  • “What a Man’s Gotta Do”

Check out Part 2 of the Dr. Horrible Sing-Along Blog Songbook here, featuring the songs

  • “On The Rise”,
  • “Bad Horse (The Phone Call)”,
  • “Keep Your Head Up”, and
  • “Brand New Day”

Check out Part 3 of the Dr. Horrible Sing-Along Blog Songbook here, featuring the songs

  • “So They Say”
  • “Everyone’s A Hero”
  • “Slipping” and
  • “Finale/ Brand New Day (reprise)”

Again: don’t forget to check out the official Dr. Horrible website, and show your support by downloading your own copy from iTunes.

Cheers, everyone!

5 thoughts on “Can’t Get Enough of Dr. Horrible!

  1. Pingback: felicia day
  2. You’re not alone! I was directed to it from a fellow Buffy fan and I was enraptured from the moment the music started. It made me remember why I spent so many years (and thousands of dollars) in college for writing for stage and screen. After a very long period of depressing stagnancy, I’m now writing again and I have Joss and his crew to thank for it.

    Dr. Horrible is absolutely fantastic. The characters draw you in from the very beginning, and who’d have thought that a super-villain could be so endearing? I too have watched it multiple times, trying to catch all the little tidbits that were put there for us to find.

    I can honestly say that the third act shocked and delighted me in the wild twist it took. It was not at all what I expected, and it showed everyone’s true colors and the price that one must pay in order for their dreams to come true. In fact, I was somewhat disturbed by the last scene, when sweet, clumsy, adorable “Billy” sheds the last bit of innocence and embraces the fact that his actions lead to the death of his love. It hurts him, but it brings him to his goal. He “upgrades” his look, going from white to blood-red and black, and bringing his goggles down (which actually makes him seem kinda’ scary.) So we are left wondering how much of “Billy” is left and how far is he going to go, now?

    And the very last scene is the final glimpse of Billy and the toll that it all took on him. He’s sans costume and, contrary to his statement, he DOES feel a thing.

    Loved it. Joss is awesome. I wish I could work with that man.

  3. Renee: Hello there. Thanks for dropping by.

    I’m glad you totally loved “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog”. I still sing the songs in the shower, and it’s been almost 2 months since I first saw it.

    “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog” has that same effect on me as “Firefly” does- I don’t mind watching em over and over again, as there’s so much you can appreciate from them on each and every viewing.

    Great to know you decided to pursue a career in film-making/ film production. There’s actually that chance you might get to work with Joss himself- and yes, that would be awesome. I bid you good luck on that endeavor.

    Hope to see more of you online, Renee. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

