What I Miss About The Philippines Right Now

OK, first off- Los Angeles isn’t such a bad place.  In fact, I’d say it’s a great place.  It’s just that you do have to make some adjustments, even more so if you have plans of moving here.

Still, I’ll tell you this now- I miss the fact that you could head off to a spa every other week, or at least every month and enjoy a nice long leisurely massage.

Aw yeah.  Thinking about it now makes me realize how stiff my neck and left shoulder feels right now.  I could sure go for one of those Swedishes in either Suriya or Blue Mountain right now.

It’s one of those things I haven’t appreciated so much until now- as the Philippines is still a developing country (third world, man!), the cost of labor is still relatively cheap.  Definitely way cheaper than here in the United States.

Which means you can get away with great massage packages for under US$30.  It also means you can take cabs just about every day, have laundry done by just dropping them off and picking em up when they’re done, and have a haircut (or your hair done) whenever you want.  All under US$10.

I also miss the fact that you don’t have to wait in line at restaurants- I mean, you might, but definitely not have to wait for half an hour to get seated.

I miss my kitties.

I miss my moldy old bed.

I miss the fact that I can hook up with my friends any time I’d want to.  I mean, I’d be able to do that here in LA eventually- but in order for me to do that, I need gainful employment, my own car, and a working knowledge of the LA streets and highways.  I’ll have to work on that next.

But not as much as getting that massage.  Man, that’s gonna be the first thing I’m going for once I recover from my flight back.

Cheers, everyone.

Leave a Reply

