The Quest For Financial Independence

As someone who’s been employed straightaway out of college for the past 14 or 15 years (as of this writing), I’d say it’s been quite an experience working for some of the best companies in my chosen industry.

I’m actually thankful for the opportunity to have immersed myself in the frontlines, build up my network, and learn about real-world skills every time I had the chance.

Then again, after a while, you get to realize that, while it has all been very rewarding, maybe it’s time to move on. Maybe it’s time I had a say on exactly what kind of life I want for myself, and not have to conform to the dictates of, say for example, a traditional family-run corporation.

It all boils down to answering a simple question: what exactly is it you want for yourself? For me, the answer was simple. I want control. I’d like to do whatever I want lifestyle-wise and work-wise without having to worry about what people think about how I manage my deadlines and deliverables. I’d like to do the kind of work I want to do- to give myself a sense of accomplishment and fulfillment, rather than giving that to another corporate entity. I’d like to spend time with the ones that matter most to me- my family, my friends, and myself.

But can it be done? I’m sure there have been a lot of other people out there who want to get out of the proverbial rat race. I’ve asked myself that question several times before, but it isn’t until now that I’ve had that perfect moment of clarity, and that I can answer “Yes, it can be done” with a strong sense of conviction and passion.

Yes it can be done.

The path of the entrepreneur is not easy. But it can be done, and it can definitely be very rewarding. Fortune favors the brave, it has been said. So if you want to seize the day, you have to take a leap of faith.

I’ve stared down that precipice several days ago. And I jumped. I have to say, I’ve never felt so liberated in my entire life.

This is the day I walk a new path.

And you’re all welcome to walk with me.

Cheers, everyone.

One thought on “The Quest For Financial Independence

Leave a Reply

