Blog About Stuff You Care About!

The following post originally came out in one of my other blogs, “Blog. Blogger. Bloggest!”. Check out the rest of that blog for more insights on the world of blogs and blogging. Particularly useful for you who are just starting to blog, and those wanting to build better blogs. Enjoy!

I just read this article on the New York Times about “Blogging Your Way Into a Business”. I find it interesting that regular folks like you and me can find their way into a lucrative enterprise by way of their blogs.

If its one thing I’ve learned- no matter how hard you try to get into it- you can’t write about stuff you don’t care about for long. I have this blog- “Blog. Blogger. Bloggest!”– mainly because I care about learning how to blog better, and helping other casual bloggers to build better blogs.

Over the past few months, I’ve positioned myself as a writer-for-hire. So I end up writing for anything from pet care products to industrial packaging and memory foam. I can tell you right now that it didn’t quite work out very well. I can only care so much about how memory foam is made, right?

So I started working on a couple of other blogs- I now have one on radio and the music industry, another on gaming, and then another on food reviews. Kind of shows exactly what kind of guy I am, right? They’re all in the content development stage right now, and not meant to be marketed yet until a few more posts. I also plan to write up one on TV, another on movies, another on business, and the project list can go on and on.

I know it’s not going to happen just yet, or at least not anytime soon. I mean, it’s great if I managed to stumble onto something lucrative doing this, but it really doesn’t matter. For as long as you’re doing something you absolutely like, something you feel really passionate about, you can just focus on developing good content.

Okay, maybe the money matters a little. Got bills to pay too, you know. But that’s what the day job is for🙂

Bottom Line: Blog about something you care about. Keep at it. You’ll never know when opportunity comes knocking at your door. And when it does, you’ll be more than ready to take on new challenges, and reap the rewards of what you’ve sown.

Cheers, everyone!

Leave a Reply

